Advise from trainer and vet

Your home for general discussion. Don't know where to post? Try here first.
Dedicated2Dogs
Just Whelped
Tell us about yourself: I am new to the dutch shepherd world. I grew up with Golden Retrievers, English Spring Spaniels, and pitbulls. I camp and hike a lot so I am looking for the perfect companion to go on adventures. I am extremely into obedience training. I love the feeling of being able to walk my dog off leash and he/she will follow all of my commands.

Advise from trainer and vet

Post by Dedicated2Dogs »

I spoke with my vet, she is trying to push me away from the breed because she has seen to many with bad tempers. I also direct messaged a trainer on Instagram who has a DS. His name is kanine.karma.trainjng he told me “They’re the most intense dogs on earth and unless someone has years of experience training high drive working dogs, it’s never a good idea. Any dog can hike and camp, these dogs will still be going 200mph after hiking 10 miles. They’re born and bred for bitework. That’s they’re purpose. If you don’t have an amazing trainer lined up to work with you on that stuff, I really wouldn’t get one.”
-Sly
Kaliag
Puppy
Tell us about yourself: 1st time DS owner named Brodie, born 12/2017. We live in Angleton, TX.

Re: Advise from trainer and vet

Post by Kaliag »

Dedicated2Dogs wrote: Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:23 am I spoke with my vet, she is trying to push me away from the breed because she has seen to many with bad tempers. I also direct messaged a trainer on Instagram who has a DS. His name is kanine.karma.trainjng he told me “They’re the most intense dogs on earth and unless someone has years of experience training high drive working dogs, it’s never a good idea. Any dog can hike and camp, these dogs will still be going 200mph after hiking 10 miles. They’re born and bred for bitework. That’s they’re purpose. If you don’t have an amazing trainer lined up to work with you on that stuff, I really wouldn’t get one.”