Don't play tug?

Your home for general discussion. Don't know where to post? Try here first.
centrop67
Site Admin
Site Admin
Tell us about yourself: Owned by Hondo and Mustang - two MAD rescue dogs.

Don't play tug?

Post by centrop67 »

Stolen from the Non-Working Dutch Shepherd Facebook page...

(Sorry Tareena, but it's worth sharing).

Someone over on the NWDS FB page posted:
Our breeder told us not to play tug with our dog because it might encourage the dog to start biting or something along those lines.
This sounds ridiculous to me.

What say you?
Michael
Location - Cutler Bay, FL USA
Image RIP: Leela, Radar, Tequila, and Snickers
If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went. - Will Rogers
Flaro1522
Just Whelped
Tell us about yourself: Just purchased a Dutch Shepherd puppy and named him Murphy. He is 6 months old. I am formerly the owner of an Australian Shepherd. I live in the Chicagoland area. I am a high school teacher and coach.

Re: Don't play tug?

Post by Flaro1522 »

I play with my dog once a day at least. It's his favorite thing to do and it makes him happy. I also let him win almost every time. He hangs on too well to the tug and I have no interest on tugging for 15 minutes straight without him outing once. It tires him out better than anything, with the exception of training...but tug takes much less time. He has never once been aggressive toward me, my sons, or my wife. In fact, I think he listens better after. Seems like it increases the bond we have. That's just my 2 cents. I'm definitely no expert.
Dutchringgirl
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Tell us about yourself: I am a mom of 6 life forces - 2 kids and 3 dogs 1 hamster. I live in Ct. I have trained Ringsport and Agility and have 2 DS, one 15 and 7 and a Basset Hound Cookie who is 2

Post by Dutchringgirl »

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Lisa, Thalie CGC & Sadie, Cookie the Basset, CT
ImageImage
Steve Gossmeyer
Training Dog