What would you do?

Your home for general discussion. Don't know where to post? Try here first.
borellar15
Training Dog
Tell us about yourself: Living in Austin, Texas with our dogs Zoey(DS), Henry (DS) and Tripper(labX). In college, I worked as a Handler and Assistant Manager of a training and daycare facility for 3 years where I've handled many working dogs. For the past 2 years I have been training Zoey and Henry and we have made some tremendous progress together.

What would you do?

Post by borellar15 »

So.... unrelated to Dutch Shepherds, however, I wanted to get some opinions or am just kinda interested to see how others here would react in this situation.

So I’m currently out at work on a drilling rig in Oklahoma. There is a person on location, well actually there are about three people out here that have their dogs with them. I do not. As much as I would love to have Zoey here to help pass the time, I would not put her in situations where she would be anxious or nervous when I have to go outside of the trailer and do stuff and would not feel comfortable with her around all the heavy machinery and moving objects.

Anyways....one of the said personnel has a Cane Corso with him that he bought for he says $1800 with a back story as well that it was abused by children as a puppy. The dog is scared. Clearly. Not in an aggressive way or anything I don’t at all get the feeling like the dog may react aggressively but it is just frightful. It walks with its tail between its legs as it follows him around everywhere. Avoids other people so much that it goes under the desk and goes a few feet away from anyone it passes. So I’m like oh okay. The dog clearly was abused and he’s trying to make a better life for it. Good deal. Wouldn’t have paid $1800 for that situation myself but that’s neither here nor there.