To breed or not to breed...

General issues of training/education
WorkingGirl3
Just Whelped
Tell us about yourself: Own two GSD and One incredible Dutchie. All working dogs.

To breed or not to breed...

Post by WorkingGirl3 »

Okay, so I know all about German Shepherds, but I am new to the world of Dutch Shepherds. I have an excellent Dutch that I would love to title in sport. He is currently working for me as a narcotic detection dog and a personal protection/patrol dog. He excels at both as well as being a great family member. If he does well and gets some official titles I would like to breed him. The question I have is, I am not a breeder, and I HATE bad breeders. I do not believe in breeding dogs that are not purebred and registered and generally excellent dogs. However, as I have been learning there are lots of great Dutch Shepherds out there that are being bred without registration as an FCI dog is rare. Is it okay to breed a Dutch that isn't registered? Is there something I can do to register him? He was imported from Holland as a pup, I am his third owner and have no idea what is pedigree is. Does this even make sense? Or am I off my rocker? Please help, any information to help me better educate myself is very much appreciated. He is really an excellent dog with a rock solid temperament and work ethic, I would love to see him contribute to the breed.
johninny
Working Dog