Training Costs?

General issues of training/education
centrop67
Site Admin
Site Admin
Tell us about yourself: Owned by Hondo and Mustang - two MAD rescue dogs.

Training Costs?

Post by centrop67 »

"You need a trainer" is a typical response - especially to newbies - here on the forum.

That said, what can someone expect to pay for a trainer?

Is it always time-based (i.e. hourly, daily, weekly)?

Are they sometimes/also based on types of training?
* Basic Obedience
* Protection
* Sport
* Behavior Modification
Michael
Location - Cutler Bay, FL USA
Image RIP: Leela, Radar, Tequila, and Snickers
If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went. - Will Rogers
borellar15
Training Dog
Tell us about yourself: Living in Austin, Texas with our dogs Zoey(DS), Henry (DS) and Tripper(labX). In college, I worked as a Handler and Assistant Manager of a training and daycare facility for 3 years where I've handled many working dogs. For the past 2 years I have been training Zoey and Henry and we have made some tremendous progress together.

Re: Training Costs?

Post by borellar15 »

I think in this situation, with this breed, if you’re looking at a good trainer, you can expect to pay around 600-800 per week for board and train programs. You get what you pay for with training. Try and go cheap and the training you get may not be as solid as you had hoped.

I don’t think most trainers usually tack on extra for behavior modification but I guess in some instances they might. I would expect extra for added training for protection or sport though for sure.

Also might find cheaper for basic imprinting and house manners type of training. I would do that stuff before 6 months tho and everything after would recommend higher level obedience training especially for this breed.
Image Image
Alex - Zoey(DS), Henry (DS), Tripper Lab mix. Austin, Texas
centrop67
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by centrop67 »