New puppy

AllisonLee
Just Whelped
Tell us about yourself: I am a stay at home mom with back ground as a vet tech. Familiar to the breed but this is my first time owning a Dutch.

New puppy

Post by AllisonLee »

Hello, this is my first time posting here and I’m searching for answers. I recently got a Dutch shepherd puppy he is 4 months and we’ve had him going on 2 weeks. Since we’ve got him he seems unsure about everything, growling at laundry baskets, children’s toys, other dogs, other people. During the day when it’s just me and my 2 children, he stays at my feet. We spend most the day walking, playing outside and doing some basic training. When my husband gets home, he turns into a different dog and goes in his corner. (I am working on my husband to gain his trust slowly) My main question as of now is about his lazy behavior. From everything I’ve read about the breed they need to stay active, but with him it’s hard to get him to do anything. Occasionally he will chase a ball but it’s not far and it’s only once. We live on the edge of the woods so he has that open to him to explore, but he chooses not to. He doesn’t make noise during the day (unless he’s growling at someone or something new), he doesn’t chew on things , he seems very content sleeping all day. I take him on a walk and jog and he prefers to “stroll” slowly. He doesn’t hide, he stays close to me and seems like he’s gaining confidence day by day. So my question is, is it by chance I found the one lazy Dutch? Or will he grow out of his lazy behavior as he gets older.
Dutchringgirl
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Tell us about yourself: I am a mom of 6 life forces - 2 kids and 3 dogs 1 hamster. I live in Ct. I have trained Ringsport and Agility and have 2 DS, one 15 and 7 and a Basset Hound Cookie who is 2

Re: New puppy

Post by Dutchringgirl »