Bloat

Dietary/feeding issues
Karin
Green Dog
Tell us about yourself: Hi there.
I WILL be a new Dutch Shepherd owner on July 20th!!! Puppies are on the ground and a huge litter at 14! Very excited. I chose the Dutch because I like high drive dogs and my husband likes shepherds. We both have had GSDs in our past. I also am interested in search and rescue training. I live in the mountains of California and have two older Australian Shepherds. I do know that I have a job managing this pack. My husband is on board with it all. No kids. Both of us have flexible jobs. We are active folk but aging! ;-))
Still we mountain bike, hike, cross-country ski and my husband runs. I walk in the woods with the dogs 3 times a day and we are lucky to have US Forest right out the door. So that is it.

Bloat

Post by Karin »

I'm a therapist and was just working with a young woman who lost her dog very suddenly to bloat. We are working on bereavement and grief. Turns out it was a "shepherd". Got me thinking, is the DS prone to bloat given they sort of have a deep chest? Seems like it can happen so suddenly and with severe consequences.
Karin In Lake Tahoe
Ptygo de las Flores (Tee-go)
Born May 24, 2013
Raven
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Tell us about yourself: .

Re: Bloat

Post by Raven »

I think you'll find that most of us treat the DS as candidates for bloat (based on old threads). Even if they aren't typical candidates, the measures for prevention certainly cause no harm.
Though I can only hope to become the person who my animals believe I am, the things that they have taught me have made me a better human being. ~~~Sharon~~~
johninny
Working Dog