When to Neuter Tyson?

nvd
Puppy
Tell us about yourself: Name is Nick, I am Canadian and my background is Dutch.
I love dogs and animals in general. I have always wanted a DS.
So now im in the process to educate my self on them before I
take the plunge! - Now I have one! not like any other dog thats
forsure!

When to Neuter Tyson?

Post by nvd »

Tyson, our almost 6 months old Dutch Shepherd is (we think) getting near the age to become nutless..

He was born June 12/14, so is almost 6 months. He was the runt, not sure if this matters or not, he is all healthy and what not but seems to be "delayed" with things like loosing puppy teeth and getting his adult teeth. Also just growing, but maybe not as everyone always is saying how big he is getting? hard for us to tell I guess.

He is currently almost 55 lbs.

All of they vets we have spoken to say at 6 months is when to neuter him. I just want other peoples input. He is not going to be a police dog or anything but would like to maybe train in some agility or tracking or who knows!

Thanks in Advance!
Nick V.
Dutch Shepherd - Tyson - Born June 12, 2014
LyonsFamily
Training Dog
Tell us about yourself: Odin 5 years
Elli 5 years

Re: When to Neuter Tyson?

Post by LyonsFamily »

For any large breed dog, especially if you're planning on doing agility, you should wait until the growth plates are closed. For a male, I'd wait 18 months. For females, I prefer after the 2nd heat. Most growth plates close around a year, so if you're really desperate, holding out another 6 months would be the minimum if you want Tyson to reap the benefits of correct hormones for growth.
Stephanie
'Odin' NV PTA Odin of Another Kingdom RL1
'Elli' Drawing Our Own Constellations RL1 CGC CGCA
nvd
Puppy
Tell us about yourself: Name is Nick, I am Canadian and my background is Dutch.
I love dogs and animals in general. I have always wanted a DS.
So now im in the process to educate my self on them before I