Grain free dog foods causing heart condition?

borellar15
Training Dog
Tell us about yourself: Living in Austin, Texas with our dogs Zoey(DS), Henry (DS) and Tripper(labX). In college, I worked as a Handler and Assistant Manager of a training and daycare facility for 3 years where I've handled many working dogs. For the past 2 years I have been training Zoey and Henry and we have made some tremendous progress together.

Grain free dog foods causing heart condition?

Post by borellar15 »

Was just watching the news and there was a report on grain free dog foods causing “dilated cardiomyopathy” in certain dogs a condition where a taurine deficiency leads to an oversized heart. Has anyone else heard this? What do you think. Says foods containing peas, potatoes l, lentils and other legumes.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.nbcnew ... ncna891011
Last edited by borellar15 on Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:09 am, edited 2 times in total.
Image Image
Alex - Zoey(DS), Henry (DS), Tripper Lab mix. Austin, Texas
oddbird
Green Dog
Tell us about yourself: I recently adopted a rescue that we have been told is a shepherd of some sort. He has totally disrupted our lives and I am loving every minute of it!

Re: Grain free dog foods casing heart condition?

Post by oddbird »

Here is another good article about it: https://www.whole-dog-journal.com/blog/ ... medium=soc

It definitely makes me wish I could afford and had the freezer space to feed raw! I am just now learning about the raw food diet.
Bird & Henry (Long-hair DS): Figuring out this working dog life together
borellar15
Training Dog
Tell us about yourself: Living in Austin, Texas with our dogs Zoey(DS), Henry (DS) and Tripper(labX). In college, I worked as a Handler and Assistant Manager of a training and daycare facility for 3 years where I've handled many working dogs. For the past 2 years I have been training Zoey and Henry and we have made some tremendous progress together.

Re: Grain free dog foods causing heart condition?