Cost to train in Schutzhund

KNPV, Schutzhund, Ring, PSA, etc - General Discussion
Forum rules
Use this forum for general discussion of Protection Sports. Please use the sub-forums for specific issues in the various phases.
biffbites
Just Whelped
Tell us about yourself: I own a 10 month old male pup from Vrijheid out of Utah.

Cost to train in Schutzhund

Post by biffbites »

Hello, I am new to the working dog world and have a 10 month old dutchie from the Vrijheid kennel.
Silly question: if we train 3 days a week about how much should those sessions cost me a month? What is reasonable? I have been researching trainers and found that their prices vary greatly.
I also have been a competitive horse back rider for long enough to know that, in the horse world at least, the most expensive trainer isn't necessarily the best (some trainers think their god's greatest gift to you and your horse) and in contrast budget training is definitely not the right way to go. I'm assuming I should have a similar experience with training my pup?
Even a broad range would help. Thanks.
icvanstra
Working Dog
Tell us about yourself: .
Location: Broad Ripple - the coolest part of Indianapolis - sometimes Amersfoort

Re: Cost to train in Schutzhund

Post by icvanstra »

The two clubs that are around here charge an annual fee. I think they are 800 and 500 per year. Plus they expect you to pitch in/help/etc...
Eric
  • - Cino vom Foxtal
    - Abigail NORML de Weijer (over the bridge)
    - Hannah the DS wanna be (over the bridge)
CaroleBoaz
Training Dog
Tell us about yourself: I am currently the Secretary and Treasurer of the Dutch Shepherd Club of North America. We are the national breed club for Dutch Shepherds, and have the support of the Nederlandse Herdershonden Club in our endeavours to record the Dutch Shepherd breed in the United States and Canada through the American Kennel Club. dscna.com Join us on Facebook.

Post by CaroleBoaz »