Ear Frustration.Help!!

General "standards" discussion not specifically related to the coat variety
karenz
Training Dog
Tell us about yourself: My name is Karen and I have a dutch shepherd, Xander, born 6/14/13. He is my second dutch shepherd. My first was Rawly. Even though Xander is my second I still have a lot to learn. That is why I'm here, to learn, get advice, and meet people who love these guys as much as I do.

Ear Frustration.Help!!

Post by karenz »

I have read everything I can find on ears. Xander put his ears up at about 3 months. They stayed up for a couple weeks then started the up down all around phase. I tried posting but I have never done it before so was not very successful. He had gotten all his teeth around 5 1/2 months and the ears came back up for a few weeks. At about 6 1/2 months they flopped again but would stand up here and there. At 7 months complete flop never stood. He is now eight months and I am posting somewhat successfully. I am giving glucosamine and chondroitin. He gets high quality food. His parents ears were fine and the others in the litter all stood early and didnt have any more problems. I'm not sure if it matters but I had him fixed a few days before he turned 7 months. I am looking for help as I have read that he is getting to the age that I may not be able to fix it. I attached a couple recent pictures to show the changes in his ears. Thanks in advance for any advice.
Attachments
2014-02-21 15.44.52.png
2014-02-21 15.44.52.png (230.54 KiB) Viewed 6342 times
2014-02-21 15.04.24.png
2014-02-21 15.04.24.png (475.47 KiB) Viewed 6342 times
2014-02-21 12.54.07.png
2014-02-21 12.54.07.png (476.18 KiB) Viewed 6342 times
Karen & Xander
Dutchringgirl
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Tell us about yourself: I am a mom of 6 life forces - 2 kids and 3 dogs 1 hamster. I live in Ct. I have trained Ringsport and Agility and have 2 DS, one 15 and 7 and a Basset Hound Cookie who is 2

Re: Ear Frustration.Help!!

Post by Dutchringgirl »