Teaching to bark at someone?

Discussion of Protection in the various sports
Tyler Durden
Puppy
Tell us about yourself: I have always had german shepherds but I am new to dutch shepherds. I hope to get a new pup shortly and look forward to learning and sharing my experience.

Teaching to bark at someone?

Post by Tyler Durden »

Hey,

Protection training is going well, but my boy doesn't really "turn up" to his full 100% barking at the decoy. I've seen him bark at other things with ferocity (more so than most bark and hold videos), but at the decoy he would go to about 30% of his potential. My trainer says not to worry because it shows he has a clear head and doesn't get stressed in the face of danger but I would really love for him to be a bit more "reckless" with his alert bark. I would like to know what methods you guys used to bring that out of their dogs. By the way he would bark ferociously at a neighbors bitch who was behind a fence, neither my dog or my neighbors is fixed so he might have been stressed that he couldn't get to the bitch.
Dutchringgirl
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Tell us about yourself: I am a mom of 6 life forces - 2 kids and 3 dogs 1 hamster. I live in Ct. I have trained Ringsport and Agility and have 2 DS, one 15 and 7 and a Basset Hound Cookie who is 2

Re: Teaching to bark at someone?

Post by Dutchringgirl »

im not sure I understand, do you want him to bark on command or just get more juice out of him?
Lisa, Thalie CGC & Sadie, Cookie the Basset, CT
ImageImage
Tyler Durden
Puppy
Tell us about yourself: I have always had german shepherds but I am new to dutch shepherds. I hope to get a new pup shortly and look forward to learning and sharing my experience.

Post by Tyler Durden »

Dutchringgirl wrote: Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:08 pm im not sure I understand, do you want him to bark on command or just get more juice out of him?
I thought I was clear, he barks at 30% at the decoy...I want to get more juice out of him.
Steve Gossmeyer