New member, new to the breed

For our new members to introduce themselves
Mando77
Just Whelped
Tell us about yourself: Male, 43, married, 1 child! I love dogs, soccer, concerts, camping & fishing!! I am head over heels for this amazing breed of dog!!

New member, new to the breed

Post by Mando77 »

Hi all from N.C.! I’m super excited that I found you guys I think I’ve seen all the DS videos on YouTube 4x now! My passion for my dog & this breed have become an obsession to get my girl to her full potential! At 8 months old today “BellaMaria the Destroyer” Is amazing!
I recently got a Dutch Shepherd mix! I am not a professional, I’m just a regular dude! As I must say I was unfamiliar with the breed! I have always had a dog, but had been without for 6 years as it took a while to grieve for my fallen comrade of 18 years, Bailey a cocker/lab mix (no drive)! My wife said I could get another & was set up to get a Boxer! As I did my research for the Boxer breed, I was fully in for the high drive & energetic dog! But the Boxer deal fell through! So a co-worker informed me of a Shepherd/lab mix! Met the mom & was told mom; GSD / lab, father unknown but was thought To be a Pitt bull! We got her at 6 weeks but was told she was about to be 8 weeks! One day her ears stood up & her muzzle became long! Started to research! Everything pointed to the Dutch Shepherd! Silver brindle, ears, super affectionate, intelligent & oh my more mouthy than any dog I have ever encountered! As she got older more traits appeared; bite became incredible strong, tug all day, powerful, protective of the yard & family, high energy all day long, I could not wear her out! People began to ask if she was a Dutchie! I have been honest & inform folks that we think she is a Dutchie mix! So I now cater to her as if she is! I used to play soccer so I run for health reasons! I now have a new running partner (Mile & 1/2 every morning) 2 mile Walk in the evening, then tug & obedience training! I’m the pack leader s